Top 4 Pinterest Life Hacks

 

By Shakira Pipkin 

Some people are drug addicts. Some are addicted to other human beings, but not I.

 I am a die hard, loving fan of Pinterest.

 I’m addicted and I’m not sure that I can live without it. I use the app daily, every chance I get.  It has gotten so bad that if anyone comes to me about a problem, I’ll say look it up on Pinterest or if they want to purchase something that I feel is not worth buying, I’ll say I can make it for you; I learned from Pinterest.

For those of you who don’t know about Pinterest (because clearly you live under a rock) it’s a website/app where you can go to find ideas, tips, and advice on just about anything you can think of and create your own board to organize what you’ve found. SO, as a self-proclaimed Pinterest expert, allow me to share my Top 4 Life Hacks found through Pinterest.

 

Design


For a while, I didn’t know what I was passionate about. My best friend would always ask me if you didn’t work in the pharmacy, what else would you love doing without getting paid for it? It was then that I started a Pinterest account and started searching DIY crafts. Then birthed my first and favorite interest: DIY crafts. It makes decorating your home cheaper because you get to make your own things such as throw pillows, wall art, and even rugs. People are so creative and they bring all their ideas to the Pinterest community with step by step tutorials to achieve the final products.  Throw pillows are expensive and if I can make it myself for $10 cheaper, I’m down to save a coin.

Cooking

I’m not the best cook in the world, but I can follow a recipe to the T! The food recipes help you because it breaks down the recipes in different categories based on what type of food you want to eat, how long you want to be slaving in the kitchen, or I only got $10 for food this week recipes. I normally go for the cheap and quick meals because I’m a cheap person and I don’t want to be in the kitchen all day after working. Easy!

Fashion


You need some better ideas of how to put outfits together, how to store your clothes, or to even do some DIY changes to some outfits, get on Pinterest boo! It gives me ideas on how to wear an outfit, how to put together an outfit, what not to wear, and the latest trends. Believe me when I say that I am not one of those girls that can see a shirt and know exactly how I’m going to rock it. I need/use Pinterest for that. Many of my outfits have been inspired by Pinterest & don’t worry guys, they have fashion for men as well.

Savings


Money, money, money, mo-ney! Money!!

There are some nice people that love to share *free advice* on how to save and make money. (God Bless you all!) When I first stumbled across this, my eyes were wide open! There was this one pin I stumbled across: “How to Trick Yourself into Saving Money”. I said hmm, how can I do that? If you’re a person that uses cash a lot, you basically save all the loose change that you get back from making a transaction and put it a jar. It works. I tried it and it freaking works! I saved over $65 in change within a year’s time.

So, now you guys know that I’m cheap, don’t know how to dress very well without help, and I can cook if you give me the directions. However, if you were to look at my Instagram, you probably wouldn’t guess that about me. (Thanks Pinterest!) Try it out and be patient, I bet you’ll like it. Also follow me on my Pinterest to see the things that I like.

Sound Off!

