Are We Waiting or Not?

My name is Shakira, and I like sex.

Who am I kidding? I love sex!

So it’s not a surprise that when I went on the journey to be celibate. I failed–more than once. That caused me to question my self worth and I asked myself “What is wrong with me”?

Then came “The Wait”, an informative book written by Devon Franklin and Meagan Good! This book was a must read for me because I had to know how in the hell did they do it.

Giving up sex until marriage can be a challenge. I learned that not having sex was extremely hard for them as well,but they fought the urge because they knew they had something special, something real with one another. Being obedient to this would help them see things clearly, help them make better decisions, and open their lives up to an abundance of blessings.

 thewait1

While I read this book in one day, less than 12 hours to be exact and there were lots of parts that stood out to me… I’m not going to tell you all of them because you need to read the book yourself. However, there is a section titled “Who is your Husband?” They explain the difference in the man you want to be your husband verses the man that God has for you. And that man is  the man who is the better version of yourself and you’re that to him. The man that values and respects you for you is your husband. He brings out the best of everything in you. And if you decided today that you wanted to refrain from sex until marriage, he respects and understands that, so he will go on that journey with you. That is your husband. 

That is just so real to me! If I tell a guy I don’t want to have sex for whatever reason and he decides to give me push back, he should be automatically cut off!  So men and ladies, if you’re tired of failed relationships and broken hearts, I recommend reading this book, hell I’m going to read it again!  I’m not saying read it only because its intent is to get you to join #TheWait, but read it because it gives you pointers on relationships, it talks about God and what he can do for you with patience, and also tells you how you can have a clearer mind about your future based off decisions you make today.

2 thoughts on “Are We Waiting or Not?

  1. You had a really good starting point, It made me want to read more into it. I love the inside look you gave on the book without telling too much. You actually made me want to check the book out, although I probably won’t finish in 12 hours or a day.

    Like

Sound Off!

